top of page

New Jersey North-East-West Regional Championships

Saturday, August 19th, 2023

Registration Opens:  10:00am

Tournament Starts:  1:00pm

TD's: Adam Zachary, John Schondek

Arooga's Grill House & Sports Bar

1031 Route 18 South

East Brunswick, NJ 08816

(732) 663-9464


Jim Wandling

Peter Trikilas

Mike Bernheimer


NJ-Central East, NJ-North, NJ-West

Regionals Overview

The Regional Championship brings together players from across your area for the shot at becoming the next Regional Champion.


This event is what you have been playing for all season! Enjoy great poker, party with your friends, and earn the opportunity to play in the ultimate World Tavern Poker tournament, the National Championships.


See you at the tables!

Venue Details

Arooga's Grill House is a great WTP venue with spacious areas for the Regional weekend. There will be plenty of drink selections, plenty of parking, and much more.

Plus, Arooga's has an amazing, top-notch staff to make this one of the best destinations with a great atmosphere to hang out with your WTP Family.

There will be Happy Hour food and bar - more to come!

Event Schedule


10:00am: Doors Open for Registration

Regional Championships are for qualified players only. You must be 21 years of age or older to play. Please have your photo ID with you.

10:00am: Regionals T-Shirts On Sale!

Make sure to grab one as soon as you arrive and then register for the Regional Championship. These will go fast - we ran out within the first hour or so at the last Regionals!

11:00am: TD Smackdown and Raffle!

To thank our wonderful TD's for all they've done! Open to TD's and their assistants from NJ-Central East, North, and West from the current and most recent season. The winner will receive the coveted TD SMACKDOWN BELT and a $50 Gift Card! ($25 Gift Card to 2nd place). PLUS, there will be a raffle for the whole room during this event!


11:30am: All In or Fold BIG POINTS Tournament

All are invited to play in this event which counts for National points! The winner receives a Regionals t-shirt and the BIG points!

12:00pm: Last Chance Tournament

The Top 10% move on to the Regional Championships! Only those who have played 5 games in participating venues this past season and have yet to qualify can play.

12:45pm: Announcements and Awards

1:00pm: Regional Championship Tournament

This is what you've waited for! The Top 10% of the field moves on to the National Championship Finals at OPEN 30 in Las Vegas this November. 15-minute breaks will occur after every two blind levels.

TBD: Tag Team Big Points Tournament

Always a popular event, join a friend and compete for prizes to be announced. Tag Team registration will occur at Regional Registration and will be available when you get knocked out. HUGE National points will be at stake!



Side games may take place when enough players are available. Check with your TD if you get knocked out.

Regional Prizes

Prizes awarded at this Regional Championship include:


1st PLACE: 3 Nights Hotel & 2 Access Passes to OPEN 30

2nd PLACE: 3 Nights Hotel & 1 Access Pass to OPEN 30

3rd PLACE: 2 Access Passes to OPEN 30

4th thru 6th PLACE: 1 Access Pass to OPEN 30


The Top 10% of the player field earn seats to National Championship Finals at OPEN 30.

Season 1-2023 Winners



2. Peter Trikilas
3. Mike Bernheimer
4. Kathy Carlson
5. Frank Radics
6. Zack Erdman
7. Brian Rosenblum
8. Amy Dub
9. Steve Shapteban
10. Mary Jane Schondek
11. Joe Pupo

12. Jusztina Siegrist

Interactive Map

Use this map for directional assistance.

Participating WTP Bars

Arooga's Grille House & Sports Bar - Howell
Arooga's Grillhouse & Sports Bar East Brunswick
Artie's Bar & Grill 
Bond's Tavern
Boulevard Bar & Grill
Brix Restaurant & Pizza Bar
Cafe Z
City Lounge
Covid 94 Bar
Dadz Bar & Grill
Dadz Bar & Grill - Sun
Elixir - SUNDAYS
Freehold Elks #1454
General Saloon
Liberty Tavern
Lory’s Lakeside
Muddy Waters
Our House Restaurant & Banquet Facility
Park Avenue Diner
Ryans Pub
Sand Bar
Sticky Wicket
The Cornerstone
Thrive at Montvale
Village Brewing Company
Woodbridge Brewing Co
Zupko's Tavern

Previous Regional Champions

Season 1-2023:  JIM WANDLING

Season 2-2022/23:  JESSE ALEXANDER

Season 1-2022:  AMY DUBOLINO

Season 2-2021/22:  JAMES WANG

Season 2-2019/20:  ED LANGE

Season 1-2019:  ANDY KRASSOWSKI

Season 2-2018/19:  NEIL SMITH

Season 1-2018:  MARC HELFON

Season 2-2017/18:  CARLOS AZCARATE

Season 1-2017:  VERONICA WOJCICH

Season 2-2016/17:  SEAN MURRAY

Season 1-2016:  VICTOR MARTIN

Season 2-2015/16:  VICTOR MARTIN

Season 1-2015:  MIKHAIL ONIK

Season 2-2014/15:  ALEX VASQUEZ

Season 2-2022/23 Winners



2. Susan Brennan
3. Harold Grausam
4. Ed Luipersbeck
5. Tony Dubolino
6. John Yonus
7. George Krug

8. Maria Fountain

9. Dan Delisa

bottom of page